Where are you from and what instruments do you play?
I was born in Korea, but I’ve been living in Australia since 2003, so I guess I’m more ‘from’ there. I mainly play the piano, but I also study organ, and I used to play the guitar when I was younger.
If you weren’t a musician what would you be doing?
Oh this one’s a good one! I would say either an architect or a watchmaker.
Where did you study?
I studied at the Conservatorium of Music in Melbourne.
Where are you studying now?
I currently study at Sibelius Academy.
What was the thing that got you interested in music?
I was very lucky to have had good music teachers, who fostered an interest for music in me.
Why are you in Finland?
I need to be here to attend school at the Sibelius Academy.

Who is your favourite musician/composer?
Oh this one’s a hard one… probably my favourite composer of all time would be Bach, but I am also quite fond of the music of Ferruccio Busoni.
What has been your most special musical experience to date?
I would say when I performed in a concert that I curated for the 150thAnniversary of Busoni. 
Do you have any secret/not-so-secret (unmusical) talents?
I am a pro at building Ikea furniture (at least my wife thinks so) and I am quite a competent swimmer and tennis player.
Do you have a guilty pleasure?
At the moment, I do a lot of “surfing the bay”… which is Watch Geek talk for scouring through ebay for vintage watches… and also playing Lego Star Wars on Wii. That one I call “shooting up droids”…!!
Tea or coffee?
I think I drink both regularly
Cats or dogs?
If you had asked me a couple of years ago, I wouldn’t have had any preferences, but nowadays, at gunpoint, I would probably say dogs.
Salad or Pizza?
Pizza all the way (without any guns pointing). I really, really love a good ol’ greasy, cheesy pizza (this also counts as a guilty pleasure)
What is your favourite country to visit?
At the moment, because I live in Finland, I wouldn’t say that Finland is my favourite country to visit, but once I return to Australia, I would love to visit Finland regularly.
What is your favourite season?
Summer
What is your favourite food?
This is the hardest question of all… I miss and crave a lot of Korean dishes that I haven’t had in a while. I love Fish & Chips, I love pizza… and pasta. Oh I love Souvlaki. And I love cake of course. Sushi and Japanese food. And burgers. I also love all the Greek food that my mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law cook for me.
Do you have hobbies?
I am really interested in the history of watches. Especially at the moment, I’m really getting into the history of military wristwatches.
If you could take three things to a desert island, what would you take?
My wife, the complete works of Bach, and my watch collection.
Do you have any pets? What are their names?
No, but my wife and I look forward to getting our first puppy.

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have children? What are their names?
No